• You cannot reply to this topic

hdd accident results... (physical shock damage) Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   aotsukisho 

• D.C Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Owner

Posted 18 February 2008 - 02:16 AM

In light of (not-so-)recent experience, I have a few things to tell everyone interested in purchasing a new hard drive. I have some experience that you will hopefully not have to go through, but is a possibility anyway....fall/physical shock damage.

As you may or may not know, a poorly made shelf in my apartment collapsed nearly right after I moved in, with all my hard drives on it. They fell down about two feet onto the desk surface with a very painful-sounding clatter. I was shocked, to say the least, and worried that all my data (320+300+500+250+20 gb worth) were all ruined.

Here's some facts to keep in mind:
  • There were three manufacturers in the hdd array:
    • 250gb, 320gb and 500gb are Western Digital Caviar (SE) drives (7200rpm)
    • 300gb is Seagate Barracuda drive (7200rpm)
    • 20gb is Fujitsu something (old drive, 5400rpm)
    • None are Maxtor, cause Maxtor is doodoo

• All hdd were horizontal except the 250 on the shelf, before they fell (platters parallel to surface, 250 was perpendicular)
  • They fell straight down (shelf gave way), so it's safe to assume the 250 was the only one to hit the table on its side, everything else impacted on their bottom
  • The stack of thre hdd was as follows (side view)

• ALL hdd were running at the time of the accident (heads were not parked)
  • Desk is made of hardwood, there was no cushioning of any sort whatsoever.

And this is how the damage stacked up.